A spirited bird in the city

Standard

It was a perfect evening. The cool sea breeze and the enchanting city lights created the magical setting to mark the near completion of one year away from home. After getting over with work in the evening, I decided to spend some lone time soaking in the spirit of the city. I glided through the labyrinth of towering skyscrapers while humming the lyrics of Alicia Keys’ New York.  I ordered a takeaway meal at McDonald’s and comfortably sat at a place for the next 2 hours where I could gaze at the beautiful skyline.

FullSizeRender (1)

Singapore Skyline – the only shot I was able to click last night before my phone battery ran out!

As I took a bite of the burger and submerged myself in the lyrics (these streets will make you feel brand new, big lights will inspire you), I began to reminisce the days when I was so resistant to move to a new city. And today after one year, I thanked God for giving me the courage to take a leap of faith. I could have never understood the importance of discovering myself in the winds of change had it not been to this enriching year.

As a growing up teenager, I had always romanticized an independent life- earning a livelihood, taking care of self and loved ones, and living to my decisions. In short, I always yearned to be an adult. But all these years, I still behaved like a child trapped in a grown up’s body, pampered by family and friends. However, today I feel like an adult who has learnt to gracefully live in uncertainty with head held up high. Though I am living a life I always wanted and I am happy with it but sometimes I tend to miss the warmth of family and friends! Maybe, I was a bird that wanted to be in the nest while experiencing the joy of flying. But as it is said, you can’t have the cake and keep it too. So I have learnt to eat my cake and live in the moment of experiencing its sweetness not thinking what will happen if I finish it.

Maybe some decisions change the course of your life forever. May be this was one of it. And maybe it was for all good.

PS- I somehow suspect my new office colleagues want me to get diabetes. I am not used to people being sweet and kind to me especially at work place. Recently, my Japanese boss bought me some chocolates from Japan on observing the number of wrappers of Toblerone lying on my table at end of every day.  I couldn’t help but think if I deserve so much of kindness especially from someone who has just known me for 4 weeks yet made so much of efforts to make me feel valued. I was short of words and just thanked him,’Domo Arigatou Gozaimasu’! 🙂

FullSizeRender (2)

Japanese chocolate – yet to taste it 🙂

One response »

  1. oh my god arpit…i was smiling all through this writeup..a vry sweet smile of pride i guess..this is the dream we all nurture and am so happy that you have been able to fulfill yours..the ease and immense beauty with which you have described the whole experience is so commendable..you know m officially a fan of your blog coz its just so real and humble at the same time..i think i hve appreciated you enough to get diabetic after all those sweets from your boss (india bhej de apne boss ko..indian bosses can learn a lot from him :p )

Leave a Reply

